Athletics

O’Gorman High School competes in Class AA, the state’s largest division for extracurricular activities based on enrollment. O’Gorman represents the smallest school in this class. In spite of this, since the school’s inception into the South Dakota High School Activities’ Association in 1968, O’Gorman has won more state athletic championships than any other high school in its class. O’Gorman has won 108 state athletic championships! This success in extra-curricular activities is due, in part, to the fact that over 90% of the students participate in at least one extra-curricular activity. With 18 different varsity sports being offered at O’Gorman, which is more than any other high school in the state, student-athletes are able to compete in a wide variety of sports.
 
ACTIVITIES DIRECTOR • Steve Kueter • (605) 575-3300 • skueter@ogknights.org
Fall Sports: 
Football
Volleyball
Girls Tennis
Boys Golf
Boys & Girls Cross Country
Boys & Girls Soccer
Dance and Cheer
Winter Sports: 
Boys & Girls Basketball
Wrestling
Gymnastics
Spring Sports:
Boys & Girls Track
Girls Golf
Boys Tennis

Sanctioned

Football

Head Coach: Jayson Poppinga

Volleyball

Head Coach: Emily McCourt
Email: emccourt@ogknights.org 
 

Boys & Girls Tennis

Head Coach: Don Barnes
Email: barney44@sio.midco.net 

Boys & Girls Golf

Head Coach: Tom Jansa
Email: oggolfcoach@gmail.com 

Boys & Girls Cross Country

Head Coach: Aaron Strand
Email: astrand@ogknights.org 
 

Boys Soccer

Head Coach: Ryan Beier
Email: rbeier@ogknights.org 

$100 fee required    

Girls Soccer

Head Coach: Sheila Diercks
Email: sdiercks@ogknights.org 

$100 fee required
 

Competitive Dance

Head Coach: Emilie Kennedy
Email: ekennedy@ogknights.org 

$100 fee required
 

Competitive Cheer

Head Coach: Tina Barnett
Email: ogcheer@ogknights.org 

$100 fee required
 

Boys Basketball

Head Coach: Derek Robey
Email: drobey@ogknights.org 

Girls Basketball

Head Coach: Kent Kolsrud
Email: kkolsrud@ogknights.org 
 

Boys & Girls Track

Head Coach: Aaron Strand
Email: astrand@ogknights.org 

Non-Sanctioned

O’Gorman High School offers two non-sanctioned sports. O’Gorman sponsors the teams, hires the coaches, and arranges the transportation. However, the South Dakota High School Activities Association does not govern non-sanctioned sports. Students competing in non-sanctioned sports represent the school, and the uniforms reflect the school name and colors. Teams compete against other schools in the state and a state champion is awarded at the end of each season.
 
Fall Sports: Sideline Cheer
Winter Sports: Powerlifting
 

Sideline Cheer

Head Coach:  Mary Lenards
Email: mlenards@ogknights.org 

Sideline cheerleaders are selected by a combination of recommendations from coaches, an interview, and a speech.  Tryouts are required, and squad size is limited. Practice begins in July and runs through the end of the season. Fall season runs August through November, and Winter Season runs November through March. A cheerleader may not participate in another sport during her designated cheer season. Cheerleaders must meet eligibility requirements as established by the SDHSAA and are required to have a current physical examination on file with the school. Fundraising is required of all cheerleaders.

Powerlifting

Head Coach:  Chris Isaacson
Email: cisaacson@ogknights.org 

Team size is limited to available equipment.  Season runs from December through March with three or four Saturday competitions. Team members must be able to compete in all competitions.  

A $25.00 participation fee is required.

Club Sports

The following club sports have permission to use the O’Gorman Knights team name on the condition that they follow all guidelines as outlined by Bishop O’Gorman Catholic Schools.  Each sport must arrange transportation, hire coaches/directors and incur all costs of any kind for these activities. 
 

Softball

Head Coach: 
Email: 
 

Bowling

Head Coach: JT Donovan
Email: jtdonovan16@yahoo.com 

Baseball

Head Coach: Dan Hughes
Email: dhughes@ogknights.org 
 

Special restrictions:  Freshmen teams in basketball and volleyball are split into A and B teams depending upon ability

Special considerations:   All participants must meet eligibility requirements as established by the South Dakota High School Activities Association and are required to have a current physical examination on file with the school.